NPL News

Relegation and Reprieves

Frickley down, Sheffield safe but Yorkshire kicked out

The Northern Premier League can now confirm the situation regarding relegation from its Step 4 divisions following the FA’s announcement this morning.

As expected, only two teams will be relegated from the Premier Division – Witton Albion and Grantham Town – with the third bottom team, Basford United, earning a reprieve due to a superior points per game to the other Step 3 divisions.

The same is also the case in the West Division, where Prescot Cables are reprieved owing to their superior points per game to their equivalents in other Step 4 divisions. Kendal Town and Market Drayton Town are relegated as the bottom two.

In the East Division, bottom placed Pickering Town have been relegated, along with 18th placed Frickley Athletic.

Yorkshire Amateur will also be relegated following a decision by the FA Alliance Committee that they would be relegated from Step 4 for their failure to comply with the Ground Grading E criteria.

An appeal has heard by the FA Appeal Board on Friday, but was unanimously dismissed on all grounds, and we are now able to confirm that unfortunately, Yorkshire Amateur will be relegated from the NPL.

Sheffield FC, who had finished in the third bottom play-off spot, are also reprieved.

In the Midlands Division, Soham Town Rangers and Wisbech Town have been relegated. Third-bottom Histon will play in an Inter-Step play-off with a Step 5 club to try and avoid relegation. As per this morning’s announcement by the FA, Histon will be at home to Northern League side Consett FC.

There will now be six Step 4/5 Inter-Step play-off fixtures, with just one involving a current NPL side.

Histon v Consett
Kempston Rovers v Eccleshill United
Cinderford Town v Skelmersdale United
Chalfont St Peter v Boldmere St Michaels
Witham Town v Saffron Walden Town
Lancing v Newhaven

These games will take place at the home ground of the Step 4 clubs on Saturday April 30.

For the 2022/23 season, there is expected to be 22 teams in the NPL Premier Division, and 20 teams each in the East, Midlands and West Divisions. This is subject to FA allocations and other factors.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Back to top button